06/22/2017: Building my digital library (part 3)

In my previous posts, I have:

  1. Downloaded the necessary software.
  2. Figured out how to obtain the shows I want.
  3. Figured out the naming convention for the shows.
  4. Figured out how to make the shows into a 16:9 resolution.

Now is time to convert and rename the shows.

I start by opening Avidemux. Clicking on the blue folder icon (Open Video), I find and open the .mkv file that kmttg downloaded and converted. Under “Video Output”, I choose “Mpeg4 AVC (x264)”. Under “Audio Output”, I choose “AAC (Faac)”. Under “Output Format”, I choose “Mkv Muxer”. Then, I click on the “Filers” button under the “Video Output” section.

In the “Available Filters” column, I right-click on the “Add Borders” filter and select “Add”. This is the filter that will add the black borders around the picture. Once I have that information in, I click on “OK”.

Scrolling down the “Available Filters” section, I find, right-click, and add the “swsResize” filter. I change the Aspect Ratio Source and Destination to “16:9”. In the “Resize Dimensions” section, I try to get as close to 1280 width and 720 height as it will let me get. It can only resize up to 200%. So, if the video you added the black borders to is 624×351 (16:9 x 39) or lower, you will not be able to reach 1280×720. Don’t worry if you cannot reach, just get as close as you can.

Last filter will be the “Noise” category. Find, right-click on, and add the “Mplayer Denoise 3D HQ” filter. Don’t change any of the settings, just click “OK”. This will smooth out the picture so that it does not appear pixelated or stretched. Close the filter window and go back to the main window.

Using the slide below the video, I get as close to the beginning of the show as I can. Then, using the left and right arrows for more accuracy, I find the right frame. I click on the “A” icon (Set start marker) to mark that spot. Next, I use the slide and arrow keys to find the end of the program. I click on the “B” icon (Set end marker) to mark that spot.

Clicking on the disc icon (Save Video) will open a window that will let you choose what you want to call the video and where you want to save it. I use the naming convention that Plex recommended and save it in the folder where I plan on putting all my videos that I want Plex to play. Depending on the video size and the computer’s processing power, it may take anywhere from ten to ninety minutes to convert.

Once I have at least one video ready, I can add it to Plex. Using these instructions, I create a Library for each TV series. As long as you used the correct naming convention, Plex should be able to recognize the series and the show. If the show is not recognized, I go back and double-check how the file is named.

Now that Plex recognizes the files, I can play them on any of my devices. The only issues I have had are the file sizes are too large or did not convert correctly. I’ve resolved these by using Handbrake to convert the .mkv file to a .mp4 file, using the “Android 720p” pre-set.

About Thomas J. Brown

I am the last true Saiyan...wait, that can't be right...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

